Skip to content
February 8, 2010 / Arthy303

A word on IDEs

It’s been a while since my last post but now I’m ready to start writing again. So what have I been doing? Mainly, I’ve been working on my Pong clone (which in the end turned out to be quite different from the original Pong actually). Initially, I wanted to make a whole different game, but then I realized that every programmer should have a Pong clone in his portfolio. Naturally, I put everything else on hold and I started developing Pong.

The game has three modes: One Player, Two Players and Wall Pong(which is a single player mode in which you have to stay alive and beat the high score). It took me about a week to get aPong (that’s the name of the game) done and I have to say that I’m quite satisfied with the outcome.

You can download the game from here and give it a try. I’m very interested in your opinion about the game so please leave a comment and tell me what you think.

So, let’s get back to the topic of this post. First of all, I’ve stopped using Dev C++ completely and I suggest that you do the same if this is your development environment. Why this decision ? Well, mainly because it hasn’t been updated since 2005 and the compiler that comes with it is outdated. This article summarizes best why you should not use Dev C++.

My favourite IDE is Visual C++ 2008 and it is by far the most complete development tool there is (it has tons of features which can help you write fast, clean and stable code) but I know there are people who are not very fond of this IDE for various reasons. Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition is free and you can find it here.

Visual C++ Express 2008

An alternative to Visual C++ is Code::Blocks which is also free and a little easier to use for beginners. Even though Visual C++ is superior to Code::Blocks, the latter should not be underestimated. Code::Blocks is up to date, can be customized using plug-ins, it is open source and you can create just about any type of game using it.
I tend to use both Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition and Code::Blocks, but when I work on bigger projects I use the former. You can dowload Code::Blocks from this website.

Code::Blocks

Now that I’ve finished my Pong clone I will start working on a new project, which is going to be a tile-based RPG or a platformer (I haven’t decided yet).

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jason A / Feb 16 2010 8:41 am

    Congratulations on the finished pong clone!🙂

  2. Aezon / Aug 30 2009 10:19 pm

    I, too, switched from dev C++ to visual c++ express. Start up is much more helpful than dev c++, and the interface looks better.

Leave a Reply

